The Room on Rue Amèlie

The Room on Rue Amélie

“Reminiscent of The Nightingale and Map of the Heart, Kristin Harmel’s The Room on Rue Amélie is an emotional, heart-breaking, inspiring tribute to the strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.”New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart

For fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly’s Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family—by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again—tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II.

When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too.

Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can’t imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart.

Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he’s really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting—and an unexpected road home.

When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis—and to open their own broken hearts—as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned.

“Set against all the danger and drama of WWII Paris, this heartfelt novel will keep you turning the pages until the very last word.” –New York Times bestselling author Mary Alice Monroe

“The strong and courageous inhabitants of The Room on Rue Amélie occupied all my time until the tender and powerful final pages. Beautifully written, Kristin Harmel’s latest is an unforgettable exploration of love and hope during the darkest of moments.” –Amy E. Reichert, author of The Optimist’s Guide to Letting Go

“Richly detailed and yet fast-paced, Harmel’s story flows at remarkable depth, as ordinary citizens rise to the challenge of extraordinary circumstances in occupied France. A fascinating exploration of the escape routes set up for downed Allied pilots, readers will be swept up in this heart-wrenching drama.” –Juliette Fay, author of The Tumbling Turner Sisters

“A story of courage and love in unimaginable circumstances.” –bestselling author Barbara Taylor Sissel

Coming March 2018. Pre-order now!

To purchase The Room on Rue Amèlie:

 

Or, to pre-order a SIGNED copy of the book, visit: