Books

The Room on Rue Amélie

Coming Soon by Kristin Harmel “The Room on Rue Amélie grows from page one into a heart-stopping, page-turning, heartrending story of suspense that will keep you reading ’til the emotionally resonant end.” –bestselling author Barbara Taylor Sissel

For fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly’s Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family—by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again—tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II. Read more….

 


When We Meet Again

When We Meet Again by Kristin Harmel Emily thinks she’s lost everything…until a mysterious painting leads her to what she wants most in the world. The new novel from the author of international bestsellers The Sweetness of Forgetting and The Life Intended shows why her books are hailed as “engaging” (People), “absorbing” (Kirkus Reviews) and “enthralling” (Fresh Fiction).

Emily Emerson is used to being alone; her dad ran out on the family when she was a just a kid, her mom died when she was seventeen, and her beloved grandmother has just passed away as well. But when she’s laid off from her reporting job, she finds herself completely at sea…until the day she receives a beautiful, haunting painting of a young woman standing at the edge of a sugarcane field under a violet sky. That woman is recognizable as her grandmother—and the painting arrived with no identification other than a handwritten note saying, “He always loved her.” Read more….

 


How to Save a Life: A Novella

How to Save a Life by Kristin Harmel

Groundhog Day meets Grey’s Anatomy in this heartfelt novella with a hint of magic from the internationally bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and The Life Intended, in which a woman with only a short time to live discovers she can repeat the same day over and over until her life feels complete.

When a pediatric oncology nurse receives a devastating prognosis—she has just weeks left to live—she finds unexpected comfort from a patient. Her young friend shares a life- and death-changing secret: it is possible to live the same day over and over again until she’s experienced a truly full life.

Thus begins a heartbreaking and joyful journey of love, friendship, and self-discovery, as the brave nurse only truly learns how to live in the face of death. Read more….

 


The Life Intended

The Sweetness of Forgetting by Kristin HarmelFrom the author of the international bestseller The Sweetness of Forgetting, named one of the Best Books of Summer 2012 by Marie Claire magazine, comes a captivating novel about the struggle to overcome the past when our memories refuse to be forgotten.

In this richly told story where Sliding Doors meets P.S. I Love You, Kristin Harmel weaves a heart-wrenching tale that asks: what does it take to move forward in life without forgetting the past?

After her husband’s sudden death over ten years ago, Kate Waithman never expected to be lucky enough to find another love of her life. But now she’s planning her second walk down the aisle to a perfectly nice man. So why isn’t she more excited?

At first, Kate blames her lack of sleep on stress. But when she starts seeing Patrick, her late husband, in her dreams, she begins to wonder if she’s really ready to move on. Is Patrick trying to tell her something? Attempting to navigate between dreams and reality, Kate must uncover her husband’s hidden message. Her quest leads her to a sign language class and into the New York City foster system, where she finds rewards greater than she could have imagined. Read more….

 


The Sweetness of Forgetting

The Sweetness of Forgetting by Kristin Harmel

“An immersive and evocative tale of generations struggling to survive.” — Publishers Weekly.

“Kristin Harmel writes with such insight and heart that her characters will stay with you long after you’ve finished her books.” — New York Times Bestselling Author Emily Giffin.

Hope McKenna-Smith, divorced mother of a surly not-quite-teenage girl, runs her family bakery on Cape Cod, but is starting to wonder what might have been. What if she hadn’t abandoned her dreams of law school? What if she hadn’t quit her job to raise her daughter? What if she hadn’t caught her husband cheating on her with a cliched blonde bimbo? When her aging grandmother, Rose, summons her to hear a long-held secret, Hope finally has the opportunity to stop thinking “what if?” and start thinking “what now?”

Read more….

To purchase “The Sweetness of Forgetting” in the U.S. and Canada:

 

To purchase “The Sweetness of Forgetting” in the UK:

 


After

After by Kristin Harmel
What if you didn’t get a chance to say good-bye?

“[After’s] lessons about family, friendship, loss, and the enduring power of love should stick with readers.” — Publishers Weekly.

“The various reactions to grief depicted are real and can serve as a guide for other teen survivors and the adults in their lives … [a] heartfelt story.” — Kirkus Reviews.

Read more….

 


Italian for Beginners

Italian for Beginners by Kristin HarmelA Roman Holiday-meets-Bridget Jones’s Diary tale of a woman who travels to Rome in search of love — and winds up finding herself instead.

“This vivid, sparkling story is sure to turn your next staycation into a fast-paced and fun Roman holiday.” — Alison Pace, author of City Dog.

“Reading Kristin Harmel is like going on vacation with your best friend – an escape to good times, big laughs, exciting discoveries, and fun, fun, fun!” — Lynda Curnyn, author of Killer Summer.

Read more….

 


The Art of French Kissing

Art of French Kissing by Kristin HarmelHow do you say, ‘So many men, so little time,’ in French?

“Kristin Harmel is a charming, gifted and hilarious storyteller. Paris never sparkled so bright as it does in the pages of THE ART OF FRENCH KISSING.” — Laura Caldwell, author of The Good Liar.

“The Art of French Kissing is like a bottle of champagne: overflowing with bubbly fun, filled with delicious romance and madcap adventures, and, toujours, intoxicating with the magic of Paris. You’ll drink it down in one glamorous gulp.” — Julia Holden, author of One Dance in Paris.

Read more….

 


When You Wish

When You Wish by Kristin HarmelWhat would you do if everyone in the world knew you – but you realized you’d never really known yourself?

“Harmel draws Star as a normal girl with an unusual life, allowing her readers to see themselves in her character … Fun for girls who wish they were stars.” — Kirkus Reviews.

“[T]his entertaining book comes down to earth when Star feels compelled to learn what it’s like to be ‘normal.'” — Parade Magazine.

Read more….

 


The Blonde Theory

The Blonde Theory by Kristin HarmelDo gentlemen really prefer blondes?

“With a smart heroine willing to date as a bona fide ditz, there are plenty of laugh-out-loud moments … The true joy comes when Harper drops the silly blonde act and gives the shallow men she meets a piece of her mind.” — Romantic Times.

“Rush out and pick this one up. You’ll be glad you did. So entertaining, I wouldn’t be surprised if this one ends up on the big screen.” — NightsandWeekends.com.

Read more….

 


How to Sleep with a Movie Star

How to Sleep with a Movie Star by Kristin HarmelA contemporary tale of Cinderella-meets-Notting Hill in this tale of a regular woman who wakes up in bed with the hottest actor in the world.

“Hilarious, star-studded and deliciously entertaining!” — Sarah Mlynowski, bestselling author of Milkrun and Monkey Business.

“Kristin Harmel’s fabulous book … captivated us.” — Complete Woman Magazine.

Read more….